How To

How To Perform Factory Reset In Windows 10

If your Windows 10 computer is acting weird for some reason or if it isn’t running as fast as it’s supposed to, you might want to do a factory reset. Resetting your Windows computer to its factory settings could solve a number of issues, including getting rid of the malware. It’s also advisable to wipe out all the data from your computer before selling it. So, how do you perform factory reset in Windows 10? It’s pretty easy.

Microsoft’s quick and easy options allow you to reset your PC without deleting your files, if that’s what you want to do. You can choose whether to keep the files or delete them. Before you begin, make sure to take a full backup of your data to ensure that you don’t lose anything important. Also, make sure that the computer is plugged in and charging.

Here’s how to factory reset your Windows 10 computer in just a few simple steps:

  • Login to your computer, click the Start Menu in the bottom left corner of the screen
  • Click on the gear icon to go to Settings or type Settings in the search bar
  • Once you are in the Settings window, click Update & Security
Windows 10 Settings
Image source: Vikas Shukla / Project Newspaper
  • Click the Recovery tab on the left side and you’ll see Reset this PC option at the top
  • Now click Get started under Reset this PC to begin the factory reset

Windows 10 Settings

  • On the pop-up window, choose whether you want to keep your files or remove everything. The first option will only remove downloaded apps while the second one will wipe everything from the computer

  • If you choose to remove everything, Windows will ask you whether you want to “Just remove my files” or “Remove files and clean drive.” The later option completely wipes off the hard drive, making it nearly impossible for someone to recover data. If you are planning to sell the computer, you should clean the drive.
  • Now click Reset and your computer will handle the rest. The PC will restart and boot back up again

That’s it. Whatever data or apps you selected to remove from the computer has been wiped off.