How To

How To Auto-Delete Your YouTube Viewing And Search History

Internet users have become increasingly concerned about the privacy of their online activities. Companies like Google and Facebook have been collecting as much data about users as they possibly can. But as the online privacy debate rages on, Google has added new features to give you more control over your data. Previously, the company used to allow users to manually delete their YouTube viewing and search history. But now you can set it up to have YouTube automatically delete your history after a predetermined time. Here’s how to set it up.

Letting YouTube and other platforms keep your browsing history allows them to tell marketers more about you. You might not be comfortable sharing all that data with advertisers. You can now prevent that without having to remind yourself about deleting the browsing history every few weeks or months by following these steps:

  • Make sure you are logged into your Google account in the web browser you are using. Then go to the YouTube History page using this link. If you want to do it on your smartphone, launch the Settings app and go to Google > Google Account > Data & Personalization > YouTube History > Manage Activity. It will redirect you to a web page
  • On the History page, you’ll see two boxes. The one on the right-hand side should read Keeping activity until you delete it manually. Right under that is the Choose to delete automatically option. Click on it.

  • Now Google will present you with three options: Keep until I delete manually, Keep for 18 months, and Keep for 3 months. Select your preference and then Google will show you the search and viewing history older than 3 months or 18 months. Delete the older activity immediately.

That’s it. Now your YouTube history will be deleted automatically after 3 months or 18 months.

If you are one of those people who don’t want Google to save their browsing or viewing history at all, you can do that in less than a minute. Go to the YouTube History page as described above and click on Change Setting under the box that says YouTube History is on. On the resulting page, turn off the toggle next to YouTube History to pause the collection of your data.